Building classes

THE BUILDING CODE OF Australia categorises all buildings into one of ten classes. The buildings mentioned in Ike and Tina Turner’s Nutbush City Limits can be allocated the following categorisations:

Class 3: (common place of long term or transient living for a number of unrelated people)

  • jail

Class 6: (a place for the sale of retail goods or the supply of services direct to the public)

  • gin house
  • store

Class 9(b): (assembly buildings in which people may gather for social, theatrical, political, religious or civil purposes)

  • church house
  • school house

Class 10(a) (non-habitable buildings including sheds, carports, and private garages)

  • outhouse


Add a comment

Commenting is closed for this article.